Professional Chaplaincy Training

We are pleased to offer the first and only fully-accredited Buddhist-based organization to be fully accredited by the Association of Clinical Pastoral Education to offer professional chaplaincy training—Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE). Our ACPE Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE) Training Program is open to those who have completed the first year of our Foundations in Buddhist Contemplative Care Training Program. Our CPE Training Program is a professional level training and is designed for people interested both in deepening their spiritual practice of caregiving as well as those interested in becoming professional chaplains.

Our Clinical Pastoral Education is interfaith professional education from a Buddhist perspective and practice for providing contemplative caregiving to anyone of any or no faith as a chaplain. Our Training brings students into supervised encounters with persons in a pivotal moment in their lives in the hospital. Coming from a reflective intimate involvement with people in their crisis or celebration, and the feedback from peers and teachers, students develop new awareness of themselves as persons and of the needs of those to whom they are with. In the Center’s CPE program, we emphasize training in being with others as differentiated from doing or helping another. From deep contemplative practice and reflection on specific moments, students begin to acquire a new understanding of care giving. Within the interdisciplinary team process of helping professions, students develop skills in intrapersonal, interpersonal and interprofessional relationships.

Oversight for our Chaplaincy Training is handled by our Pastoral Advisory Committee. This Committee is a group of interdisciplinary professional people who meet at regular intervals to provide advice and consultation on our Chaplaincy Training Program planning, development and program evaluation. This Committee’s service helps insure that our CPE Training Program is well integrated within the organization and provides feedback for quality assurance.

Program Components per Unit

  • The 300 hours of clinical practice of chaplaincy to patients and staff
  • 100 hours of education in 10 monthly daylong trainings held on Wednesdays or Thursdays and one four day retreat
  • Detailed reporting and evaluation of that practice
  • Clinical Supervision
  • Monthly peer meetings
  • Monthly readings and written papers

Areas of Focus:

  • Contemplative care of those facing the crisis of illness and loss
  • Spiritual assessment
  • Spiritual diagnosis
  • Transference and Countertransference
  • Archetypal Approaches to Contemplative Care
  • Spiritual Bypassing
  • Care of dying persons and their loved ones
  • Medical and spiritual ethics
  • Buddhology of suffering
  • Buddhology of contemplative care
  • Contemplative care in multicultural and multi-faith settings
  • Elective Study

To complement the training program, the New York Zen Center offers public talks, retreats, workshops, and other training programs. To view Upcoming Events, click here.

Location & Dates:

Group Locations & Dates

2014 – 2015

Groups 1 & 2 (regular classes)
Location: Karpas Health Information Center, 311 First Ave. @ 18th Street

Group 3 (regular classes)
Location: Mount Sinai Medical Center

Groups 1, 2, & 3 (combined classes)
Location: New York Zen Center for Contemplative Care, 119 W. 23rd St., Suite 401

Group 4
Location: New York Zen Center for Contemplative Care, 119 W. 23rd St., Suite 401

Scheduled Dates for 2014-15 CPE Classes

(note, our 2013-14 CPE class dates are listed below the 2014-15 dates)

GROUP 1

All classes will be held at Karpas Health Information Center (311 First Avenue @ 18th Street) from 10 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.

2014

Wednesday, Sept. 10: Required orientation for students whose placement is Mount Sinai Beth Israel campus (location: Podell Auditorium, Beth Israel Medical Center)

  • Tuesday, Sept. 16
  • Thursday, Sept. 18 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Tuesday, Sept. 23
  • Tuesday, Oct. 7
  • Tuesday, Oct. 14
  • Thursday, Oct. 30 – Sunday, Nov. 2: Contemplative Care Retreat, required (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 11
  • Tuesday, Nov. 18
  • Tuesday, Dec. 9
  • Thursday, Dec. 18 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)

2015

  • Tuesday, Jan. 6
  • Thursday, Feb. 5 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 10
  • Tuesday, Feb. 17
  • Tuesday, Mar. 3
  • Tuesday, Mar. 10
  • Thursday, Mar. 12 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Tuesday, Apr. 7
  • Tuesday, Apr. 14
  • Tuesday, May 5
  •  Thursday, May 14: Completion Ceremony, 6:00 – 8:30 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)

GROUP 2

All classes will be held at Karpas Health Information Center (311 First Avenue @ 18th Street) from 9:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.

2014

Wednesday, Sept. 10: Required orientation for students whose placement is Mount Sinai Beth Israel campus (location: Podell Auditorium, Beth Israel Medical Center)

  • Saturday, Sept. 13
  • Thursday, Sept. 18 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Tuesday, Sept. 30
  • Saturday, Oct. 11
  • Tuesday, Oct. 21
  • Thursday, Oct. 30 – Sunday, Nov. 2: Contemplative Care Retreat, required (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Saturday, Nov. 8
  • Tuesday, Nov. 25
  • Saturday, Dec. 6
  • Tuesday, Dec. 16
  • Thursday, Dec. 18 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)

2015

  • Saturday, Jan. 10
  • Thursday, Jan. 15 – Sunday, Jan. 18: Silent Retreat, optional (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Tuesday, Jan. 27
  • Thursday, Feb. 5 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Saturday, Feb. 14
  • Tuesday, Feb. 24
  • Thursday, Mar. 12 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Saturday, Mar. 21
  • Tuesday, Mar. 24
  • Saturday, Apr. 4
  • Tuesday, Apr. 21
  • Tuesday, May 12
  • Thursday, May 14: Completion Ceremony, 6:00 – 8:30 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)

GROUP 3 (Note: Class dates are subject to change. Schedule will be finalized in July 2014.)

All classes will be held at Mount Sinai main campus from 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.

2014

  • Wednesday, Sept. 3
  • Wednesday, Sept. 10
  • Thursday, Sept. 18 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 24
  • Wednesday, Oct. 1
  • Wednesday, Oct. 8
  • Wednesday, Oct. 15, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 22
  • Wednesday, Oct. 29
  • Thursday, Oct. 30 – Sunday, Nov. 2: Contemplative Care Retreat, required (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Wednesday, Nov. 5
  • Wednesday, Nov. 12
  • Wednesday, Dec. 3
  • Wednesday, Dec. 10
  • Thursday, Dec. 11, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 17
  • Thursday, Dec. 18 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)

2015

  • Thursday, Jan. 15, 9:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. (location: Garrison Institute, last day of first unit)
  • Thursday, Jan. 15 – Sunday, Jan. 18: Silent Retreat, required (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Thursday, Feb. 5 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 11
  • Wednesday, Feb. 18, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 25
  • Wednesday, Mar. 4
  • Wednesday, Mar. 11
  • Thursday, Mar. 12 (all CPE groups together, location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Mar. 25
  • Wednesday, Apr. 1
  • Wednesday, Apr. 8, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)
  • Wednesday, Apr. 15
  • Wednesday, Apr. 22
  • Wednesday, Apr. 29
  • Wednesday, May 6
  • Thursday, May 14, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)
  • Thursday, May 14: Completion Ceremony, 6:00 – 8:30 p.m. (location: NYZCCC)

GROUP 4

All classes will be held at New York Zen Center for Contemplative Care from 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.  unless otherwise indicated.

2014

  • Wednesday, September 10: Orientation for students whose placement is Mount Sinai Beth Israel campus (location: Podell Auditorium, Beth Israel Medical Center)
  • Thursday, Sept. 4
  • Thursday, Oct. 2
  • Thursday, Oct. 30 – Sunday, Nov. 2: Contemplative Care Retreat, required (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Thursday, Dec. 4

2015

  • Thursday, Jan. 8
  • Thursday, Jan. 15 – Sunday, Jan. 18: Silent Retreat, optional (location: Garrison Institute)
  • Thursday, Feb. 12
  • Thursday, Mar. 5
  • Thursday, Apr. 12
  • Thursday, May 7
  • Thursday, May 14: Completion Ceremony, 6:00 – 8:30 p.m.
Scheduled Dates for 2013-14 Classes:

**Beth Israel clinical orientation:   September 11, 2013, 9-3 p.m.

CLINICAL PASTORAL EDUCATION

Group 1 

Led by: Rev. Trudi Jinpu Hirsch Abramson, ACPE Supervisor with Rev. Robert Chodo Campbell, Senior Chaplain

Training dates are primarily on Tuesdays. There is one required retreat.

Sept: 11 (Beth Israel orientation), 17

Oct: 8, 17-20 (Contemplative Care Retreat, attendance required), 24 (combined class)

Nov: 5

Dec: 10

Jan: 7, 16-19 (Silent Retreat, attendance encouraged)

Feb: 4, 6 (combined class)

Mar: 4

Apr: 3 (combined class), 8

May 6, 22 (Completion Ceremony)

Group 2 

Led by: Rev. Trudi Jinpu Hirsch Abramson, ACPE Supervisor with Rev. Robert Chodo Campbell, Senior Chaplain

Training dates are primarily on Tuesdays. There is one required retreat.

Sept: 11 (Beth Israel orientation), 24

Oct: 17-20 (Contemplative Care Retreat, attendance required), 24 (combined class), 29

Nov: 26

Dec: 17

Jan: 16-19 (Silent Retreat, attendance encouraged), 28

Feb: 6 (combined class), 18

Mar: 25

Apr: 3 (combined class), 22

May: 13, 22 (Completion Ceremony)

Group 3 

Led by: Rev. Dr. Koshin Paley Ellison, ACPE Associate Supervisor

Training dates are on Thursdays. There are two required retreats.

Sept: 11 (Beth Israel orientation), 12, 26

Oct: 10, 17-20 (Contemplative Care Retreat, attendance required), 24 (combined class), 31

Nov: 7

Dec: 5, 19

Jan: 2, 9, 16-19 (Silent Retreat, attendance required) 30

Feb: 6 (combined class), 13, 27

Mar: 13, 27

Apr: 3 (combined class), 10, 24

May: 1, 22 (Completion Ceremony)

Group 4 

Led by: Rev. Dr. Koshin Paley Ellison, ACPE Associate Supervisor, with Rev. Trudi Jinpu Hirsch Abramson, ACPE Supervisor, and Rev. Robert Chodo Campbell, Senior Chaplain

Training dates are on Wednesdays (except for graduation). There are two required retreats.

Sept: 4, 11 (Beth Israel orientation)

Oct: 17-20 (Contemplative Care Retreat, attendance required), 23  

Nov: 13

Dec: 18

Jan: 16-19 (Silent Retreat, attendance required), 22

Feb: 12

Mar: 12

Apr: 16

May: 7, 22 (Completion Ceremony)

Guidelines for Enrollment

Our Buddhist CPE Training Program is designed for people who have taken our Foundation Training. If there is space in our upcoming training, those with previous CPE experience and significant Contemplative Practice experience will be considered.

  • 3 Letters of recommendation: from a Buddhist teacher or someone who knows your spiritual practice, from an academic reference, and one from a personal reference.
  • An in-person interview.
  • Availability to do all your clinical hours in one of our partner institutions in New York City.
  • Please email: francesca@zencare.org for an application.

Tuition

  • The cost for the ten-month program is $2550 + retreat fee
  • A limited number of partial work-exchange scholarships may be available.
  • Space is limited. Applications will be reviewed as they are sent in. Admissions are rolling and on-going.

Accreditation:

The Association for Clinical Pastoral Education, Inc.
1549 Clairmont Road, Suite 103, Decatur, GA 30033
Tel: 404.320.1472
Fax: 404.320.0849
www.acpe.edu

Comments are closed.

css.php